Child Support Attorneys in Reno, NV
Reno's Top Child Support Lawyers
Child support is determined in Nevada pursuant to NAC 425.140. Once parties determine a visitation schedule, the Court will set the amount of child support based on which parent the children spend more time with, how many children the parties share, and how much income the parties make.
Reno Child Support Lawyers at Carlson & Work are here to help you navigate the child support laws. Our goal is to get our clients the best child support outcomes.
Speak with an Attorney Now!
CHILD SUPPORT LAWS IN NEVADA
Child Support Laws in Nevada is largely determined by what custody schedule the family law court determines following a divorce or child custody hearing. In Nevada the family law courts largely base these amounts by the Nevada statutory authority outlined in NRS 125(B) which serves as a guideline to the family court judge when they are set to determine child support and child custody.
What is the maximum child support in Nevada?
The maximum child support is based on the presumptive maximums under NRS 125B.070. of which:
- For one child, 18 percent;
- For two children, 25 percent;
- For three children, 29 percent;
- For four children, 31 percent; and
- For each additional child, an additional 2 percent,
*Percentages are also based on monthly income brackets under NRS 125B.070
What is the new child support law in Nevada?
There are four primary changes in the new child support law:
- There is no minimum amount set for child support
- Statutory caps on child support no longer applies
- The percentages and calculations of child support have changed
- The age at which child support ends has changed
Does back child support go away after child turns 18?
Child support ends at the age of 18 but if the child is still studying in high school, it will end at age 19. If the child has a mental or physical disability, the court can extend beyond the age of majority and can be terminated if the child receives a court order to remove a disability status.
Is there a statute of limitations on collecting back child support?
Back child support payments based on Nevada law have no statute of limitations for the enforcement of child support if a court order exists. Retroactive support up to a period of 4 years may be requested if a court order does not exist.
CHILD SUPPORT AMOUNT
NAC 425.140 sets child support for one child at 16% of the parties’ income, two children at 22% of the parties’ income, three children at 26% of the parties’ income, and so on. The way child support is awarded will vary based on whether or not the parents share joint physical custody or one parent has primary physical custody. An attorney at Carlson & Work can assist you in calculating the proper child support obligation based on the custody and visitation schedule as well as the number of children and your income.
Legal custody pertains to major life decisions surrounding the children such as medical or educational choices. Parents typically share joint legal custody of children even if one parent sees the children more often than the other, but sometimes the Court will award sole legal custody to a parent based on certain circumstances. When parents ordered to share legal custody have a dispute about a decision regarding their children, parents can ask the Court to decide in their favor.
Sometimes the amount of child support can be adjusted based on deviations. Deviations are child-related expenses paid by either parent that can offset the child support obligation, or increase the child support obligation for the other party.
Child support can sometimes be subject to wage garnishment. This means that the party with the child support obligation will have the payment deducted directly from their paycheck, and the funds will be sent immediately to the other party.
CONTACT CARLSON & WORK TODAY!
Carlson & Work can assist your family in determining the proper child support obligation based on Nevada law. Schedule Consultation
Child Support Blogs
Paternity in Nevada
Paternity Attorneys assisting families in Reno, Sparks, Washoe County, and Northern Nevada Paternity is the legal and biological relationship between a father and child. In
Northern Nevada Divorce Litigation Attorneys
When you’re going through a divorce, you have a lot of questions: How long will this take? How much will it cost me? What if
Physical vs Legal Custody
The Primary Types Of Child Custody In Nevada Nevada law describes two types of child custody to explain a parent’s legal duties in a divorce case.